Richard Morris Hunt Prize Overview

Since 1990, the Richard Morris Hunt Prize, co-sponsored by the American Architectural Foundation and the French Heritage Society, offers mid-career American and French design professionals an intensive six-month exchange experience that showcases the latest scholarship and practice around historic preservation and architectural heritage.

The Hunt Prize is named for Richard Morris Hunt, the first American architect to study at the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris, France. Hunt is one of the most renowned 19th-century American architects and helped to formalize architecture as a profession in the U.S. and promote urbanism. The Hunt Fellowship Prize alternates each year between a French and American architect and carries a stipend of $20,000.

The American Architectural Foundation and French Heritage Society conceived the Hunt Prize as a means to introduce experienced preservation architects in France and the United States to preservation practice and technique in each other’s countries. Awarded in alternate years to an American and to a French fellow, the program includes extensive travel and interaction with local preservation professionals in the host country. It affords design professionals the opportunity to broaden their outlooks on architectural heritage. Americans see a variety of current projects and are introduced to the state institutions that govern French historic monuments and landscapes. French recipients are introduced to federal, state and local preservation organizations, professionals in public and private practices and visit significant historic sites and projects applicable to their proposed study in the United States.

Since 2011, the Richard Morris Hunt Prize Jury gives an additional opportunity through the Hunt Scholarship Prize to an architect with the characteristics outlined above to spend five weeks in France or America with the assistance of the Managing Teams.

For more information, visit

27 Fellows from France and the U.S. constitute an active professional network for the program:

2017 Beth A. Jacob, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C

2016 Lucas Monsaingeon

2014 Laurent Duport

2013 Maya Foty, AIA, LEED AP

2012 Elsa Ricaud, DSA

2011 Robert J. Hotes, AIA, LEED AP

2010 Vanessa Fernandez

2009 Tina Roach, AIA, LEED AP

2008 Diego Rodriguez, DSA

2007 Wendy Hillis, AIA

2006 Christophe Loustaü, DSA

2005 Mary Brush, FAIA

2004 Pascal Filâtre, DSA

2003 Kyle R. Brooks, AIA

2002 Sabina Fabris, DSA

2001 Raymond Plumey, FAIA

2000 Stéphanie Zugmeyer, DSA

1999 Elizabeth Newman, AIA

1998 Stéphanie Celle-Riccio, DSA

1997 Yves Patrick Deflandre, AIA

1996 Jérôme Francou, DSA

1995 Linda Stevenson, AIA, LEED AP

1994 Ruth Todd, FAIA, AICP, LEED AP

1993 Jean-Christophe Simon, DSA, CESHCMA

1992 Bonita J. Mueller, RA, DESCHMA, PMP

1991 Pierre-Antoine Gatier, DSA, Hon. FAIA

1990 John Robbins, AIA

Four Scholars from France and the U.S. add to the active professional network for the program:

2017 Constance C. Lai, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C

2016 Florence Declaveillère

2014 Axelle Macardier

2012 Isabelle Michard

Share | Print
Posted in: Richard Morris Hunt Prize

The American Architectural Foundation has been dedicated to advancing the role of architecture and design in American society since its founding in 1943 by the American Institute of Architects.

In its 75 years in existence the Foundation’s work has taken many forms — from educational programming and exhibitions in its early years to large-scale design initiatives and programs —all of which serve to create a rich legacy.

As the managing partner of the Mayors’ Institute on City Design for twenty years, in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the United States Conference of Mayors, the Foundation helped move the needle on design and cities. And, through its other signature programs like Save America’s Treasures in partnership with National Parks Service, the Sustainable Cities Design Academy, and Design for Learning, the Foundation has provided critical design leadership training and technical assistance to hundreds of elected officials, education leaders, business leaders, and other key decision makers in the design process.

In recent years, cities and civic leaders have embraced design and design thinking in a way that could not have been imagined when the Foundation begin its work back in 1943 — and AAF’s role in this transformation is a source of great pride for the Foundation. With this increased interest in the role of design in shaping our cities came a proliferation of new organizations to support and facilitate this cultural shift. These advances in the role of design in American society and changes in the nonprofit design sector, coupled with the departure of the organization’s longest-serving CEO, prompted the Foundation’s Board to embark on an intensive and lengthy process to examine the ongoing role and work of the Foundation.

As the Board of Regents reflected on the positive changes of the cultural value of design, the accomplishments of the Foundation, and how the legacy of the Foundation’s work is being carried out by its former staff in new roles and organizations across the country, they reached the conclusion that the American Architectural Foundation had accomplished what it set out to do. As a result, the Foundation began to complete its remaining programs and wind down its operations in the Summer of 2018 and the organization’s endowments have been distributed to allied organizations. The Foundation’s research and reports will remain available on its website as a resource to the field.

The Foundation’s work would not have been possible without the incredible talents of its many staff over the decades, the generous support of its funders, and the tireless dedication of its civic & design partners across the country. The Board remains deeply proud of the significant contributions Foundation has made in its 75-year history and would like to acknowledge that this would not have been possible without the efforts, dedication, and support from so many of you.