- American Architectural Foundation - http://www.archfoundation.org -

Gala 2012: Mayor Michael A. Nutter Receives Joseph P. Riley Jr. Award for Leadership in Urban Design

The Honorable Michael A. Nutter, mayor of Philadelphia, is the second recipient of the Joseph P. Riley Jr. Award [1] for Leadership in Urban Design, awarded by the American Architectural Foundation [2] (AAF) in association with The United States Conference of Mayors [3] (USCM).

In selecting Mayor Nutter for the award, AAF and USCM emphasized the design leadership that he has demonstrated in transforming Philadelphia into a city focused on smart design and sustainability.  Highlights of Mayor Nutter’s accomplishments include:

“In the span of just four years, Mayor Nutter has transformed Philadelphia’s approach to urban design,” said Ron Bogle, president and CEO of AAF.  “Mayor Nutter has proven to be masterful at bringing together local leaders and design professionals to make smart design choices that strengthen communities through innovative, sustainable development.”

“A growing number of mayors believe the axiom that good design is essential to the future prosperity of our cities,” said Tom Cochran, CEO and executive director of The United States Conference of Mayors.  “From the day he took office, Mayor Nutter set out to prove that axiom right.  He has led Philadelphia and its citizens on a mission to create a city that is welcoming, economically vibrant and green.  He is to be commended for his vision and leadership, which are inspiring his fellow mayors across the country.”

The Riley Award was first presented to former Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley in February 2011.  The award, presented annually to a mayor by AAF in association with USCM, is named after Mayor Joseph P. Riley Jr. of Charleston, S.C., who was first elected in 1975 and is now serving his tenth consecutive term in office. Under his leadership, Charleston has been widely acclaimed for its commitment to affordable housing and the revitalization of its waterfront and historic downtown business districts. Mayor Riley was a founding father of the Mayors’ Institute on City Design [12], a leadership initiative of the National Endowment for the Arts [13] in partnership with the American Architectural Foundation and The United States Conference of Mayors. Established in 1986, the Mayors’ Institute on City Design has provided leadership training in urban design to more than 850 mayors across America.

Mayor Nutter accepted the award at AAF’s 23rd annual Accent on Architecture Gala [14] on March 9, 2012, in Washington, D.C.




Established in 1943 and headquartered in Washington, D.C., the American Architectural Foundation [2] (AAF) is a national 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that educates the public about the power of architecture to improve lives and transform communities. Through national programs including the Sustainable Cities Design Academy [15]Great Schools by Design [16], the Mayors’ Institute on City Design [12], and the Architecture + Design Education Network [17], AAF promotes design leadership and literacy at the local level, where everyday decisions can have a transformative impact on the places that shape our lives and our society. Each year AAF is on the ground in more than 75 cities across the country, helping local leaders to use design as a catalyst for innovation and action.


The United States Conference of Mayors (USCM) is the official nonpartisan organization of cities with populations of 30,000 or more. There are 1,208 such cities in the country today. Each city is represented in USCM by its chief elected official, the mayor. The primary roles of USCM are to promote the development of effective national urban/suburban policy; strengthen federal-city relationships; ensure that federal policy meets urban needs; provide mayors with leadership and management tools; and create a forum in which mayors can share ideas and information.

Featured in the picture above from L to R are: The Honorable Joseph P. Riley Jr., mayor of Charleston, S.C.; The Honorable Michael A. Nutter, mayor of Philadelphia; Tom Cochran, CEO and executive director, The United States Conference of Mayors; and Ron Bogle, president and CEO, the American Architectural Foundation.