AAF Design for Learning Council Convenes

On October 28, 2013, the American Architectural Foundation welcomed national leaders in design and education to the House of Sweden in Washington, D.C., for the inaugural convening of the Design for Learning Council. A report on the proceedings will be available here shortly.

The Council is being formed through an invitation-only process and will be composed of an influential cross-section of leaders in education, technology, philanthropy, and design, including:

    • Innovative and entrepreneurial architects and educators;
    • Researchers from universities and other institutions focused on the learning environment’s impact on teaching and learning;
    • Technology and digital education specialists;
    • Product manufacturers engaged in education research;
    • Executives from national education and design organizations;
    • Business leaders engaged in education as part of their corporate citizenship efforts; and
    • Representatives of major education foundations.

Design for Learning is AAF’s national initiative to advance the compelling value of design and the design process in supporting educational innovations, improved learning outcomes, and stronger communities. It builds on AAF’s decade of experience engaging education leaders in more than 100 urban school districts—convening intensive design collaborations; conducting observational and applied research; and prototyping next-generation educational models.

Attendees: (From left, back row) David Greenberg, Vice Chancellor for Institutional Partnerships, University of Denver, and Founder, Denver School of Science and Technology; William Bushaw, PhD, Executive Director, PDK International; Tim Dufault, AIA, NCARB, LEED AP, President & CEO, Cuningham Group Architecture; Charles Miller, PhD, Assoc. Professor, Learning Technologies/Co-Director, LT Media Lab, University of Minnesota; Ron Bogle, Hon. AIA, President & CEO, AAF; Mark Goodman, Publisher, Learning by Design; G. Craig Wilson, Director, Market Development, Steelcase Education Solutions; Jim Wood, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, REFP, Director, PK-12 Education, FGM Architects; Tom Carroll, President, National Commission on Teachers & America’s Future; Patrick Glenn, AIA, REFP, LEED AP, K-12 Regional Practice Leader, Perkins+Will; Kevin Sullivan, Program Specialist, AAF; Mark de Groh, Director of Knowledge Management & Innovation, AAF; Jim French, AIA, National Educational Leader, DLR Group; Thom Minner, Director of Planning, AAF; (from left, front row) Ira Socol, Design Project Manager, Albemarle County Public Schools; Eric Cantor, Chairman & CEO, New Mountain Learning; Kerry Leonard, AIA, Senior Education Planner & Principal, FGM Architects; Anne Bryant, Executive Director Emeritus, National School Boards Association; Pamela Moran, PhD, Superintendent, Albemarle County Public Schools; Pam Loeffelman, FAIA, LEED AP, Principal & K-12 Practice Director, SHW Group; Linda Lentz, Senior Editor, Architectural Record, McGraw-Hill Construction; Deb Grasman, Senior Interior Designer, Steelcase Education Solutions; John Pfluger, AIA, LEED AP, Principal Cuningham Group Architecture; Tom Rogér, Vice President & Senior Project Executive, Gilbane; Bryce Pearsall, FAIA, Managing Principal & Chairman, DLR Group (David Greenberg, Eric Cantor, Anne Bryant, and Bryce Pearsall are also members of the American Architectural Foundation’s Board of Regents).

Share | Print
Posted in: Design for Learning, Print, School Design
  • Support AAF