2014 Richard Morris Hunt Fellow Announced

American Architectural Foundation and French Heritage Society Name 2014 Richard Morris Hunt Fellow
2014 Richard Morris Hunt Scholar Also Announced

February 3, 2014, Washington, D.C. Marking a quarter century for their trans-Atlantic partnership, the American Architectural Foundation (AAF) and French Heritage Society (FHS) have named architect Laurent Duport the twenty-fifth recipient of the Richard Morris Hunt Prize. Duport is a founding partner of C+D Architecture in Nîmes, France. In 2006, he joined the faculty at the School of Architecture of Montpellier.

Laurent Duport

Laurent Duport

As the 2014 Fellow, Duport will take a six-month research trip across the U.S. to examine the evolution of architectural styles on American campuses from the late 18th century through the present, paying special attention to those campuses design by Frederick Law Olmsted (1822–1903). In so doing, he hopes to provide insight to university leaders pursuing expansion and sustainability initiatives within the context of a historic campus.

According to Duport, “Most universities have a number of distinct architectural traces that are the heritage of their campuses…. [The heritage approach] involves identifying among the qualities of the campus those that are more revealing, those that best express the traditions of the institution, and those that may be most useful for its future. In this way, understanding and knowledge of heritage can be most beneficial to the development of a campus.”

In addition to the Prize, AAF and FHS have awarded Axelle Macardier a scholarship to support one-month of study on the preservation of 19th-century buildings in major U.S. cities near their train stations. Noting that train stations have proven to be a catalyst for urban revitalization in many areas, she hopes to gain insight on protecting these areas through regulations, economic levers, educational efforts, and restoration techniques employed in the United States. Macardier is currently an assistant architect at Architectes des Bâtiments de France, Seine-Saint-Denis (STAP).

Axelle Macardier

Axelle Macardier

About the Richard Morris Hunt Prize:
The Prize is named for Richard Morris Hunt, the first American architect to study at the École des Beaux-Arts in Paris and one of the most renowned architects of the 19th century. It offers American and French architects specializing in historic preservation an intensive six-month exchange experience focused on the latest scholarship and practices in the field. The Prize alternates between an American and a French architect annually and carries a $25,000 stipend.

The program is supported in part through a generous gift from Lafarge. “Lafarge strives to find innovative solutions to preserving our built environment—and with it, our cultural heritage. We are pleased to join AAF and FHS in supporting this invaluable exchange of ideas and information,” said Leopold Lombard, architect relations director for Lafarge.
More information on the Prize is available at

Members of the 2014 Richard Morris Hunt Prize Jury:
•    Philippe Belaval, Conseil d’État, présidence du Centre des monuments nationaux (CMN)
•    Ronald E. Bogle, Hon. AIA, American Architectural Founation (AAF) President & CEO, RMHF Co-Chairman
•    Lisa Bonner, American Architectural Foundation (AAF)
•    Pierre Antoine Gatier, ACMH, IGMH, President ICOMOS France. 1991 RMH Fellow
•    Mireille Grubert, Architectes urbaniste en chef de l’État, directrice du Centre des hautes études de Chaillot
•    Florence Jeanjean, RMHF France Managing Team Director
•    Alex Klatskin, FAIA, Forsgate Industrial Partners, Partner.AAF Board of Regents member
•    Michèle le Menestrel Ullrich, French Heritage Society (FHS) Founding President, RMHF Founder, RMHF Co-Chairman
•    Leopold Lombard, Architect, Lafarge Architect Relations Director
•    Alain Marinos, Inspecteur Général de l’Architecture et des Espaces Protégés Patrimoine
•    Philippe Prost, Architecte, Urbaniste, Professeur
•    Didier Repellin, ACMH, IGMH
•    Jean Christophe Simon, Inspecteur général des monuments Historiques, Collège des Monuments Historiques. 1993 RMH Fellow
•    Jose Maria Ullrich y Rojas, Embajador de España, FHS Advisory Committee
•    Antoine Vernholes, Directeur “Architecture d’Aujourd’hui

Featured image of Stanford University campus in California by landscape architect Frederick Law Olmsted. Courtesy of Adam Fagen.

Share | Print
Posted in: Center for Design & Cultural Heritage, Creative Placemaking, Design Leadership, News, Partnerships, Preservation, Print, Public Spaces, Richard Morris Hunt Prize, Sustainability
  • Support AAF