John M. Syvertsen, FAIA
Evanston, IL

Timothy Dufault AIA, NCARB, LEED AP
President & CEO
Cuningham Group Architecture, Inc.
Minneapolis, MN

James R. Tolbert, III
Chairman & President
First Oklahoma Corporation
Oklahoma City, OK

William T. Kerr
Global Partner Acquisition Corp
North Palm Beach, FL

Ronald E. Bogle, Hon AIA
President & CEO


Stephen T. Ayers, FAIA, LEED AP
Architect of the Capitol
U.S. Capitol
Washington, DC

Stephen B. Bonner
Member, Board of Directors
Cancer Treatment Centers of America
Schaumburg, IL

Anne L. Bryant
Executive Director Emerita
National School Boards Association
Arlington, VA

Eric Cantor
Chairman & CEO
New Mountain Learning
Radnor, PA

Jim French, FAIA
Senior Principal
DLR Group
Overland Park, KS

Anthony W. Greenberg
The JBG Companies
Chevy Chase, MD

Alex Klatskin, FAIA
General Partner
Forsgate Industrial Partners
Teterboro, NJ

Theodore Landsmark, M.Env.D., J.D., Ph.D., Assoc. AIA, D.F.A. (Hon.)
President Emeritus
Boston Architectural College
Boston, MA

William N. Myhre
K&L Gates LLP
Washington, DC

Alison Taylor
Vice President, Sustainability – Americas
Siemens Corporation
Washington, DC

Kathy Taylor
Lobeck Taylor Family Foundation
Tulsa, OK




Richard G. Boxall
Sussex, England

Sylvester Damianos, FAIA
Pittsburgh, PA

Herbert W. Levy, FAIA
Gwynedd, PA

Philip Pillsbury, Jr. Hon. AIA
Washington, DC

The American Architectural Foundation has been dedicated to advancing the role of architecture and design in American society since its founding in 1943 by the American Institute of Architects.

In its 75 years in existence the Foundation’s work has taken many forms — from educational programming and exhibitions in its early years to large-scale design initiatives and programs —all of which serve to create a rich legacy.

As the managing partner of the Mayors’ Institute on City Design for twenty years, in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the United States Conference of Mayors, the Foundation helped move the needle on design and cities. And, through its other signature programs like Save America’s Treasures in partnership with National Parks Service, the Sustainable Cities Design Academy, and Design for Learning, the Foundation has provided critical design leadership training and technical assistance to hundreds of elected officials, education leaders, business leaders, and other key decision makers in the design process.

In recent years, cities and civic leaders have embraced design and design thinking in a way that could not have been imagined when the Foundation begin its work back in 1943 — and AAF’s role in this transformation is a source of great pride for the Foundation. With this increased interest in the role of design in shaping our cities came a proliferation of new organizations to support and facilitate this cultural shift. These advances in the role of design in American society and changes in the nonprofit design sector, coupled with the departure of the organization’s longest-serving CEO, prompted the Foundation’s Board to embark on an intensive and lengthy process to examine the ongoing role and work of the Foundation.

As the Board of Regents reflected on the positive changes of the cultural value of design, the accomplishments of the Foundation, and how the legacy of the Foundation’s work is being carried out by its former staff in new roles and organizations across the country, they reached the conclusion that the American Architectural Foundation had accomplished what it set out to do. As a result, the Foundation began to complete its remaining programs and wind down its operations in the Summer of 2018 and the organization’s endowments have been distributed to allied organizations. The Foundation’s research and reports will remain available on its website as a resource to the field.

The Foundation’s work would not have been possible without the incredible talents of its many staff over the decades, the generous support of its funders, and the tireless dedication of its civic & design partners across the country. The Board remains deeply proud of the significant contributions Foundation has made in its 75-year history and would like to acknowledge that this would not have been possible without the efforts, dedication, and support from so many of you.